Project to support protected marine areas for the mitigation and adaptation to the effects of the climatic change

State : Ongoing | Number of beneficiaries : 50,430 people

2018/2020, 24 months : 2018/2020, 24 months

Location : Joal Protected Marine Area (AMPJ) and Palmarin Community Nature Reserve (RNCP), Saloum Delta, Senegal

Project summary

Local partner

Nebeday is a Senegalese organization of participative management of natural resources that has been founded six years ago and achieved several projects with substantial impact.

Created in June 2011, by Jean Goepp, previously coordinator of Océanium projects, Nebeday (meaning “the tree of life”) follows one motto: “the environment at the heart of development”.

Nebeday is among the only actors to carry out participatory projects for the protection of biodiversity and the fight against the consequences of climate change, this in a particularly vulnerable area known as the Saloum Delta, which is on the Unesco World Heritage list.

For Nebeday, the environment is at the heart of a development and can only be done by Senegalese rural populations.

Nebeday’s main expertise lies not only in the fight against the consequences of climate change, but also in its intervention method that is particularly close to the populations and truly participative. This allows it to implement programs that preserve the environment and effectively combat climate change.

This “social engineering” is based on strong communication achieved through debate campaigns and especially exchanges that respect the local knowledge, customs and habits.

This expertise enables Nebeday to implement innovative projects in the climate field in response to the needs expressed by the populations.

The problem

With more than 2/3 of its territory located in the Sudano-Sahelian zone, low annual rainfall (between 100 and 500 mm) and 720 km of coastline, Senegal is one of the West African countries most vulnerable to climatic changes. Adaptation projects must therefore be enabled in agriculture, water resources and the coastal zone.

Despite the urgency of the threat, the Senegalese government is struggling to enable the fight against the negative consequences od climate change in terms of concrete public policies.

The rural and coastal population, which accounts for more than half of the population (more than 60% of the active population work in agriculture and fishing) is highly dependent on natural resources. The pressure on these resources leads to their scarcity and / or degradation, which exacerbates the process of impoverishment and makes the communities concerned more vulnerable to the negative impacts of climate change.

It is therefore in priority in rural and coastal areas, in sectors where natural resources are still present and in collaboration with the poorest populations, that climate adaptation actions will have to be concentrated, in order to give them the best chances to be adopted, replicated and integrated into local development and thus enable them to contribute to the main challenge faced by the country at the beginning of the 21st century.

Baobab, amas coquiller datant du néolithique, bolon et mangrove

Objectives/Activities carried out

Global Objective: Combat climate change through two Marine Protected Areas (MPAs); the Marine Protected Area of Joal and the maritime part of the Palmarin Community Nature Reserve (RNC).

Specific objective: Contribute to carbon storage (mitigation) through the production of sustainable solid biofuels, reforestation, safeguarding marine biodiversity in 2 MPAs and reduce the impact of climate change (adaptation) through the promotion of a true “green economy”, sustainable and structured.

  • Planting of trees (50,000 continental trees will be planted in the MPAs of Joal and Palmarin): training beneficiaries in reforestation, formation of a reforestation committee
  • Production of 15,000 kg of organic charcoal in Palmarin that will be consumed in the 2 MPAs: evaluation of the herbaceous biomass available for the manufacture of straw marmoreal strawberries, constitution and equipment of GIE
  • Work for the effective protection of marine biodiversity through the two MPAs: delimitation of MPAs with guidelines, training on MPA preservation activities for beneficiaries (management committees, eco-guards, village leaders), monitoring of marine biodiversity
  • Production and marketing of at least 300 kg of honey annually by the GIE of Joal beekeepers. These women will be trained and equipped thanks to the project: identification, training and equipment of women beekeepers, constitution of GIE, monitoring of beekeepers
  • Installation of a village agro-forestry perimeter by the women of a village among the 4 villages of Palmarin (Ngallou, Ngueth, Ngounoumane, Diakharor): equipment of the agro-forestry perimeter, training and monitoring of beneficiaries (farmers)

Beneficiaries

Direct beneficiaries:
The results of the project concern all the inhabitants of the MPA and the RNC, ie 50,430 beneficiaries.
-The management committees of the 2 MPAs.
-The Economic Interest Group (ies) (G.I.E.) that will engage in beekeeping, agro-forestry and bio-coal activities, ie at least 200 people.

Indirect Beneficiaries:
-The fishermen because the resources will be protected.
-The inhabitants of MPAs because through the creation of wealth and development of sectors the environment will be protected.
-The hoteliers (about twenty tourist structures) who will have more local resources available (organic vegetables).

Projet d’appui aux aires marines protégées du Saloum pour l’atténuation et l’adaptation aux changements climatiques

État : En cours | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 50 430 personnes

Durée du projet : 2018/2020, 24 mois

Lieu : Aire Marine Protégée de Joal (AMPJ) et Réserve Naturelle Communautaire de Palmarin (RNCP), Delta du Saloum, Sénégal

Partenaire local

Nebeday est une organisation sénégalaise de gestion participative des ressources naturelles qui comptabilise 6 années d’existence et qui a d’ores et déjà réalisé plusieurs projets impactant.

Créée en juin 2011, à l’initiative de Jean Goepp, auparavant coordonnateur des projets d’Océanium, Nebeday veut dire l’arbre de vie, la devise de l’association étant : « l’environnement au cœur du développement ».

Nebeday est parmi les seuls acteurs à mener des projets participatifs de protection de la biodiversité et de lutte contre les conséquences des modifications du climat, dans une zone particulièrement vulnérable qu’est le Delta du Saloum, inscrite sur la liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l’Unesco.

Pour Nebeday, l’environnement est au coeur d’un développement qui ne peut se faire que par et pour les populations rurales sénégalaises.

La principale expertise de Nebeday réside non seulement dans sa thématique d’intervention qu’est la lutte contre les conséquences des changements climatiques, mais également dans sa méthode d’intervention particulièrement proche des populations et réellement participative. Cela lui permet de mettre en œuvre des programmes préservant l’environnement et luttant efficacement contre les modifications du climat.

Cette ingénierie sociale s’appuie sur une communication forte réalisée grâce à des campagnes de cinéma-débat itinérant, des séances de palabres mais surtout des échanges et le respect et la connaissance des us et des coutumes locales.

Cette expertise permet à Nebeday la réalisation de projets innovants dans le domaine du climat en réponse aux besoins exprimés par les populations.

La problématique

Avec plus de 2/3 de son territoire situé en zone soudano-sahélienne, de faibles précipitations annuelles (entre 100 et 500 mm) et 720 km de côtes, le Sénégal est un des pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest les plus sensibles aux changements climatiques. Il doit donc s’y adapté dans trois domaines prioritaires : l’agriculture, la ressource en eau et la zone côtière.

Malgré l’intégration de cette menace, le gouvernement sénégalais peine à intégrer l’adaptation au changement climatique en terme de politiques publiques concrètes.

La population rurale et côtière qui représente plus de la moitié de la population totale (plus de 60% de la population active est agriculteur, éleveur ou pécheur) est fortement tributaire des ressources naturelles. La pression sur ces ressources engendre leur raréfaction et/ou leur dégradation qui exacerbent le processus de paupérisation et rend davantage vulnérable les communautés concernées face aux impacts négatifs des changements climatiques.

C’est donc en priorité dans les zones rurales et côtières, sur des secteurs où des ressources naturelles sont encore présentes et en collaboration avec les populations les plus pauvres que devront se concentrer les actions d’adaptation au climat pour leur donner un maximum de chance d’être adoptées, répliquées et intégrées aux référentiels de développement locaux et leur permettre ainsi de contribuer au principal défi que doit relever le pays en ce début de 21ème siècle.

Baobab, amas coquiller datant du néolithique, bolon et mangrove

Objectifs/activités

Objectif global : Lutter contre les changements climatiques à travers deux Aires Marines Protégées Communautaires fonctionnelles (AMP) ; l’Aire Marine Protégée de Joal et la partie maritime de la Réserve Naturelle Communautaire de Palmarin (RNC).

Objectif spécifique : Contribuer au stockage de carbone (atténuation) par la fabrication de bio-combustibles solides durables, le reboisement, la sauvegarde de la biodiversité marine dans 2 AMP et réduire l’impact des évolutions climatiques (adaptation) grâce à la promotion d’une véritable « économie verte », durable et structurée.

  • Plantation d’arbres (50 000 arbres continentaux seront plantés dans les AMP de Joal et Palmarin) : formation des bénéficiaires au reboisement, formation d’un comité de reboisement
  • Production de 15 000 kg de bio charbon à Palmarin qui seront consommés dans les 2 AMP : évaluation de la biomasse herbacée disponible pour la fabrication du charbon de paille à Palmarin, constitution et équipement des GIE
  • Travail à la protection efficace de la biodiversité marine à travers les deux AMP : délimitation des AMP avec des balises, formation sur les activités de préservation des AMP pour les bénéficiaires (comités de gestion, écogardes, leaders villageois), suivi de la biodiversité marine
  • Production et commercialisation d’au minimum 300 kg de miel annuellement par le GIE d’apicultrices de Joal. Ces femmes seront formées et équipées grâce au projet : identification, formation et équipement des apicultrices, constitution des GIE, suivi des apicultrices
  • Mise en place d’un périmètre agro forestier villageois par les femmes d’un village parmi les 4 villages de Palmarin (Ngallou, Ngueth, Ngounoumane, Diakharor) : équipement du périmètre agro forestier, formation et suivi des bénéficiaires (agricultrices)

Les bénéficiaires

Le projet se déroule dans l’AMP de Joal et la RNC de Palmarin dont voici les données démographiques :
RNC Palmarin : 10 430 habitants
AMP Joal : 40 000 habitants.

Bénéficiaires directs :
Les résultats du projet concernent tous les habitants de l’AMP et de la RNC, soit 50 430 bénéficiaires.

Autres bénéficiaires directs :
-Les comités de gestion des 2 AMP.
-Le (s) Groupements d’Intérêt (s) Economique (s) (G.I.E.) qui s’adonneront aux activités d’apiculture, d’agro-foresterie et de bio-charbon, soit au moins 200 personnes.

Bénéficiaires indirects :
-Les pêcheurs car les ressources seront protégées.
-Les habitants des AMP car à travers la création de richesse et le développement de filières l’environnement sera protégé.
-Les hôteliers (une vingtaine de structures touristiques) qui disposerons de plus de ressources locales disponibles (légumes biologiques).