Food sovereignty and resilience to climate change in rural Mongolia

State : Funding | Number of beneficiaries : 3200 people

Project duration : 3 years

Place : Khishig-Undur village (Bulgan province), Mongolia

Local partner

The Ecosoum association was created in 2018 and immediately embarked on its first project, dedicated to improving the management of household waste.

Since then, Ecosoum has also been developing:

  • an agricultural project aimed at supporting and developing local organic farming,
  • Another project aimed at strengthening artisanal production capacities of local goods and services useful to the population.

These projects are all carried out with a view to increasing local resilience, particularly in the face of climate change.

The Ecosoum association is particularly legitimate in the implementation of its projects because it is made up exclusively of inhabitants of the villages where the projects take place and it benefits from the formal recognition of local authorities in the implementation of such projects. Ecosoum also counts among its associative members based in Ulan Bator many volunteers with expertise in areas related to climate change issues (architect specializing in energy efficiency, water and environment engineers, etc.).

In addition, this is a project that is perfectly consistent with the mandate and other projects of the association (waste management, sustainable agriculture and breeding, etc.), all of which aim to fight for the protection of environment and against climate change.

Context

If Mongolia is historically self-sufficient in meat and dairy products due to its ancestral extensive pastoralism, this is far from the case with regard to vegetables and fruits.

As in most of the country, the soum (village) of Khishig-Undur, where two thirds of the families are nomadic herders, is experiencing a serious problem of overgrazing, which contributes to a worrying phenomenon of desertification of the steppes. It should also be mentioned that forest management is relatively poor in Khishig-Undur. In fact, forest areas are constantly decreasing and now represent only 8% of the total area of ​​the soum (32,300 ha out of 245,500 ha), a comparable figure for the whole of Mongolia.

Khishig-Undur is located about 300 km (both paved and dirt roads) from the capital Ulaanbaatar, where most of the goods and food, including almost all vegetables, come from. imported from abroad or produced in other regions of Mongolia.

National under-production of vegetables and the lack of food sovereignty have been well-identified problems for decades. The difficulties faced by farmers have increased with the effects of climate change. In addition, the Covid crisis and movement restrictions during the year 2020 and the first half of 2021 have highlighted the extent of specific food-related issues facing isolated soums like Khishig-Undur: As the transport of goods from the capital Ulaanbaatar dwindled in number and increased in price, the supply of vegetables was a struggle, and demand far exceeded not only local production but also imported supply. This situation is very likely to worsen in the future.

The mission

General objective: Improve food sovereignty and the resilience of Mongolian rural communities to climate change through the development of local agro-ecological production of vegetables and fruits

Specific objective: Increase the production and conservation of vegetables and fruits in Khishig-Undur

Activities

  • Establishment of a community agro-park of 6.2 ha to gradually produce enough vegetables locally to supply the entire population of the soum, training of local farmers
  • Establishment of a 10 ha community orchard to create new sustainable jobs and strengthen the resilience of communities to climate change, practical training of beneficiary households
  • Rehabilitation of an efficient community cellar and development of the processing of vegetables and fruits allowing conservation all year round and supplying the population of the soum, training of households on food conservation

Beneficiaries

The project reaches 3,200 people, i.e. the total population of the village of Khishig-Undur, for food sovereignty and resilience to climate changesince all inhabitants will directly benefit from better access to good local vegetables and fruits.

More specifically, the project benefits:

  • 5 to 10 families involved in the agricultural agro-park
  • 12 “amateur gardeners” families
  • 20 families involved in the cultivation of the orchard.

Souveraineté alimentaire et résilience au changement climatique en Mongolie rurale

État : En cours de financement | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 3200 personnes

Durée du projet : 3 ans

Lieu : Village de Khishig-Undur (province de Bulgan), Mongolie

Partenaire local

L’association Ecosoum a été créée en 2018 et s’est immédiatement lancé dans son premier projet, dédié à l’amélioration de la gestion des déchets ménagers.

Depuis, Ecosoum est également en cours de développement de :

  • un projet agricole visant à soutenir et développer l’agriculture biologique locale,
  • un autre projet visant à renforcer les capacités de production artisanale de biens et services locaux utiles à la population.

Ces projets sont tous menés dans une perspective de résilience locale accrue, notamment face au changement climatique.

L’association Ecosoum est particulièrement légitime dans la mise en œuvre de ses projets car elle est constituée exclusivement d’habitants des villages où les projets ont lieu et elle bénéficie de la reconnaissance formelle des autorités locales dans la mise en place de tels projets. Ecosoum compte d’ailleurs parmi ses membres associatifs basés à Oulan-Bator de nombreux bénévoles bénéficiant d’une expertise dans des domaines liés aux enjeux du changement climatique (architecte spécialiste de l’efficience énergétique, ingénieurs eau et environnement, etc.).

En outre, il s’agit là d’un projet parfaitement cohérent avec le mandat et les autres projets de l’association (gestion des déchets, agriculture et élevage durable, etc.), qui ont tous pour objet de lutter pour la protection de l’environnement et contre le changement climatique.

Contexte

Si la Mongolie est historiquement autosuffisante en viande et en produits laitiers du fait de son pastoralisme ancestral extensif, c’est loin d’être le cas en ce qui concerne les légumes et les fruits.

Comme dans la plupart du pays, le soum (village) de Khishig-Undur, dont deux tiers des familles sont des éleveurs nomades, connaît un grave problème de surpâturage, qui contribue à un phénomène inquiétant de désertification des steppes. Il faut aussi mentionner que la gestion forestière est relativement pauvre à Khishig-Undur. En effet, les surfaces forestières sont en constante diminution et ne représentent désormais que 8% de la superficie totale du soum (32300 ha sur 245500 ha), un chiffre comparable sur l’ensemble de la Mongolie.

Khishig-Undur est situé à environ 300 km (à la fois pavés et chemins de terre) de la capitale Oulan-Bator, d’où proviennent la plupart des marchandises et de la nourriture, y compris presque tous les légumes, qu’ils soient importés de l’étranger ou produits dans d’autres régions de la Mongolie.

La sous-production nationale de légumes et le manque de souveraineté alimentaire sont des problèmes bien identifiés depuis des décennies. Les difficultés rencontrées par les agriculteurs se sont accrues avec les effets du changement climatique. En outre, la crise de Covid et les restrictions de mouvement au cours de l’année 2020 et du premier semestre 2021 ont mis en évidence l’étendue des problèmes spécifiques liés à l’alimentation auxquels sont confrontés des soums isolés comme Khishig-Undur : alors que le transport de marchandises depuis la capitale Oulan-Bator diminuait en nombre et augmentait en prix, l’approvisionnement en légumes a été une lutte, et la demande dépasse de loin non seulement la production locale mais aussi l’offre importée. Il est fort probable que cette situation s’aggrave à l’avenir. C’est pourquoi il faut agir dès aujourd’hui pour améliorer la souveraineté alimentaire du soum et la résilience de ses communautés.

La mission

Objectif général : Améliorer la souveraineté alimentaire et la résilience des communautés rurales mongoles au changement climatique à travers le développement de la production agro-écologique locale de légumes et de fruits

Objectif spécifique : Augmenter la production et la conservation des légumes et des fruits à Khishig-Undur

Les activités

  • Mise en place d’un agro-parc communautaire de 6,2 ha permettant progressivement de produire localement suffisamment de légumes pour approvisionner l’ensemble de la population du soum, formation des agriculteurs locaux
  • Mise en place d’un verger communautaire de 10 ha permettant de créer de nouveaux emplois durables et de renforcer la résilience des communautés au changement climatique, formation pratique des ménages bénéficiaires
  • Réhabilitation d’une cave communautaire performante et développement de la transformation des légumes et des fruits permettant la conservation toute l’année et l’approvisionnement de la population du soum, formation des ménages sur la conservation des aliments

Les bénéficiaires

Le projet touche 3200 personnes, soit la population totale du village de Khishig-Undur, pour la souveraineté alimentaire et la résilience au changement climatique puisque tous les habitants bénéficieront directement d’un meilleur accès à de bons légumes et fruits locaux.

Plus spécifiquement, le projet bénéficie à :

  • 5 à 10 familles impliquées dans l’agro-parc agricole
  • 12 familles « jardiniers amateurs »
  • 20 familles impliquées dans la culture du verger.