Prevention and response to gender-based violence during the Covid-19 period in the slums of Mathare

State : In progress | Number of beneficiaries : 300 children and women victims of violence in the slum

Project duration : 4 months

Location : Mathare slum, Kenya

Local partner

The Legacy Education Center (LEC) is a non-profit institution, created in 2010, designed to provide advocacy programs, empowerment of women and youth and educational opportunities to the most vulnerable children in the community of slum of Mathare. It is a community-based organization registered with the government of Kenya with the registration number KAS / CBO / 5/4/2012/495.

LEC has successfully developed several projects in the past including a sponsorship program, the Safisha Kijiji program (Keep your slum clean!), the return to school of all girls, the development of entrepreneurship skills and empowerment of children through sport.

Context

Mathare slum is Kenya’s largest slum, with many residents living below the poverty line. Most of these residents are unemployed and the few people who can access temporary jobs live hand to mouth. The inhabitants of this slum depend mainly on these temporary jobs: doing domestic work, mainly for women and working in factories and industries, mainly for men. Since the COVID-19 pandemic hit Kenya, most factories have been closed and in accordance with government guidelines on social distancing, many women have lost their domestic work.

With children at home and their parents unemployed, LEC has found very high rates of domestic violence within families. Many women suffer in silence as they are physically and emotionally abused in their homes. Children sometimes witness these acts of abuse without knowing what to do. This has led to the breakdown of marriages and the flight of women and their children from their homes. Children are usually also victims of domestic violence.

The mission

The overall objective is to prevent and respond to cases of domestic violence in the homes of the Mathare slum.

The specific objective is to sustainably reduce violence within households by strengthening knowledge about its negative effects and by providing access to psychosocial support and monitoring for families in the slum.

Activities

  • Raising awareness and strengthening knowledge on the effects of gender-based violence
  • Access for victims to psychosocial services such as counseling and therapeutic services (drawing, painting, reading, etc.)
  • Access for victims to medical aid and distribution of hygiene and food kits

Beneficiaries

Direct: 300 children and women victims of violence in the slum

Indirect: 1000 people, i.e. the entire community

Prévention et réponse à la violence basée sur le genre pendant la période du Covid-19 dans les bidonvilles de Mathare

État : En cours | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 300 enfants et femmes victimes de violence au sein du bidonville

Durée du projet : 4 mois

Lieu : Bidonville de Mathare, Kenya

Partenaire local

Le Legacy Education Center (LEC) est une institution à but non lucratif, créée en 2010, destinée à fournir des programmes de plaidoyer, d’autonomisation des femmes et des jeunes et des opportunités d’éducation aux enfants les plus vulnérables de la communauté du bidonville de Mathare. Il s’agit d’une organisation à base communautaire enregistrée auprès du gouvernement du Kenya avec le numéro d’enregistrement KAS / CBO / 5/4/2012/495.

Le LEC a développé avec succès plusieurs projets dans le passé dont un programme de parrainage, le programme Safisha Kijiji (Gardez votre bidonville propre !), le retour à l’école de toutes les filles, le développement des compétences en entrepreneuriat et l’autonomisation des enfants par le sport.

Contexte

Le bidonville de Mathare est le plus grand bidonville du Kenya, avec de nombreux habitants vivant sous le seuil de pauvreté. La plupart de ces habitants sont au chômage et les rares personnes pouvant accéder à des emplois temporaires vivent au jour le jour. Les habitants de ce bidonville dépendent principalement de ces emplois temporaires : exercer un travail domestique, principalement pour les femmes et travailler dans les usines et industries, principalement pour les hommes. Depuis que la pandémie du COVID-19 a frappé le Kenya, la plupart des usines ont été fermées et conformément aux directives données par le gouvernement sur la distanciation sociale, de nombreuses femmes ont perdu leur travail domestique.

Avec des enfants à la maison et leurs parents au chômage, le LEC a constaté des taux très élevés de violence domestique au sein des familles. De nombreuses femmes souffrent en silence car elles sont physiquement et émotionnellement maltraitées dans leur foyer. Les enfants assistent parfois à ces actes de maltraitance sans savoir quoi faire. Cela a conduit à l’éclatement des mariages et à la fuite des femmes et de leurs enfants en dehors de leur foyer. Les enfants sont généralement aussi victimes de violence domestique.

La mission

L’objectif global est de prévenir et répondre aux cas de violence domestique au sein des foyers du bidonville de Mathare.

L’objectif spécifique est de réduire durablement la violence au sein des foyers par le renforcement des connaissances sur ses effets négatifs et par l’accès à un soutien et suivi psychosocial pour les familles du bidonville.

Les activités

  • Sensibilisation et renforcement des connaissances sur les effets de la violence basée sur le genre
  • Accès pour les victimes à des services psychosociaux tels que le conseil et les services thérapeutiques (dessin, peinture, lecture…)
  • Accès pour les victimes à une aide médicale et distribution de kits d’hygiène et de nourriture

Les bénéficiaires

Direct : 300 enfants et femmes victimes de violence au sein du bidonville

Indirect : 1000 personnes, soit toute la communauté