Resilience to climate change for children and families in rural areas of Betanzos

State of progress : In progress | Number of beneficiaries : 350 children, 160 farming families, 70 students

Project duration : 2020/2022, 3 years

Place : Betanzos, department of Potosi, Bolivia

Project funded by Framework Agreement by the Grand Duchy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg

Local partner

SUMAJ PUNCHAY is a nongovernmental nonprofits organization that acts mainly in marginalized and remote areas of Bolivia. Affected by the high level of poverty in rural and urban areas of Bolivia, SUMAJ PUNCHAY was formed in 2001. “Sumaj Punchay” is a term of origin Quechua means “to better days.” The aim of the NGO is to give future generations the conditions for greater social justice, education, health, environmental and biodiversity, self-determination, equality genres, all within the framework of respect for human rights, including the right of indigenous peoples.

Photo d'une femme arrosant les plantations à Betanzos, Bolivie.

Context

At Betanzos, over 4000 meters, the farming activities, generating income for families, depend mainly on the climate and families coping capacity is not sufficient to withstand the effects of climate change that’s increases for several years (drought, heavy rain, flooding, hail, frost …). The deterioration of agricultural production systems is accompanied by degradation and causes a decrease in food insecurity and a high productivity for families and their children.

The mission

This project proposes to prioritize adaptation needs of the most vulnerable people of Betanzos reducing inequalities between children in poverty to improve their capacity to withstand the effects of climate change. Access to water will be favored through the establishment of sustainable farming techniques to ensure a share of the rights of children and to contribute to food and nutrition security and also to ensure generating activity income from their parents by marketing their agricultural products.

Activities

  • Installation of 12 rainwater collection systems and 30 surface water catchment systems for drinking and irrigation, organization of workshops construction, use and maintenance of these systems water
  • Implementation of 114 vegetable gardens, training on improving traditional production and marketing of products, involvement of families in local markets
  • Reforestation
  • Nutrition education, hygiene and food safety
  • Raising awareness in schools about climate change, its effects and the resilience

Beneficiaries

350 children, 160 farming families, 70 students


Make a donation for children and families in rural areas of Betanzos


BILLLULL / IBAN : LU81 0021 1689 1320 2200


Informations personnelles

Total du don : 10,00€

Résilience aux effets du changement climatique des enfants et des familles des zones rurales de Betanzos

État : En cours | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 350 enfants, 160 familles agricultrices, 70 élèves

Durée du projet : 2020/2022, 3 ans

Lieu : Betanzos, département de Potosi, Bolivie

Projet financé en accord cadre par le Ministère des Affaires Étrangères du Grand Duché de Luxembourg

Partenaire local

SUMAJ PUNCHAY est une organisation non gouvernementale sans but lucratif qui agit principalement dans les régions marginalisées et reculées de la Bolivie. Touchée par le haut niveau de pauvreté dans les régions rurales et urbaines de Bolivie, SUMAJ PUNCHAY s’est constituée en 2001. « Sumaj Punchay » est un terme d’origine quechua qui signifie « vers de meilleurs jours ». L’objectif de l’ONG est d’apporter aux générations futures les conditions d’une plus grande justice sociale, de l’éducation, la santé, le respect de l’environnement et de la biodiversité, l’autodétermination, l’égalité de genres, tout cela, dans le cadre du respect des droits humains, et notamment du droit des peuples autochtones.

Photo d'une femme arrosant les plantations à Betanzos, Bolivie.

Contexte

A Betanzos, à plus de 4000 mètres d’altitude, les activités d’agricultures, génératrices de revenus pour les familles, dépendent principalement du climat et la capacité d’adaptation des familles n’est pas suffisante pour supporter les effets de la variation climatique qui s’accentue depuis plusieurs années (sécheresse, forte pluie, inondation, grêle, gel…). La détérioration des systèmes de production agricole s’accompagne d’une dégradation des sols et entraîne une baisse de la productivité ainsi qu’une grande insécurité alimentaire pour les familles et leurs enfants.

La mission

Ce projet propose de prioriser les besoins d’adaptation des personnes les plus vulnérables de Betanzos en réduisant les inégalités entre les enfants en situation de pauvreté pour améliorer leurs capacités à supporter les effets du changement climatique. L’accès à l’eau sera privilégié grâce à la mise en place de techniques agricoles durables afin d’une part de garantir les droits des enfants et de contribuer à leur sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle et d’autre part d’assurer une activité génératrice de revenus à leurs parents par la commercialisation de leurs produits agricoles.

Les activités

  • Mise en place de 12 systèmes de collecte des eaux de pluie et de 30 systèmes de captation d’eau de surface pour la consommation et l’irrigation, organisation d’ateliers de construction, d’utilisation et de maintenance de ces systèmes d’eau
  • Mise en place de 114 jardins potagers, formation sur l’amélioration de la production traditionnelle et sur la commercialisation des produits, participation des familles aux marchés locaux
  • Reboisement
  • Formation en nutrition, en hygiène et en sécurité alimentaire
  • Sensibilisation dans les écoles sur le changement climatique, ses effets et les capacités de résilience

Les bénéficiaires

350 enfants, 160 familles agricultrices, 70 élèves


Faire un don pour les enfants et familles des zones rurales de Betanzos


BILLLULL / IBAN : LU81 0021 1689 1320 2200


Informations personnelles

Total du don : 10,00€