For the development of girls through education and protection in the area of ​​Mbour

Funding statement : In progress | Number of beneficiaries : 120 girls

Project duration : 2020/2022, 3 years

Location : Mbour, Thies, Senegal

Project funded by Framework Agreement by the Grand Duchy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg

Local partner

Youth and Development (Jeunesse et Développement (JED) in French) / Scouts and Girl Scouts of Senegal (Eclaireurs et Eclaireuses du Sénégal (EEDS) in French) is a development NGO founded in 1936 and located in all regions of Senegal, inspired by Scout values, serving youth and the community. Its mission is to contribute to improving the quality of life of people, mainly in the field of health, education, socioeconomic integration, and the environment, including preparing young people for their role active and responsible citizens in synergy with the Scouts and Scouts of Senegal.

Context

The population of Senegal is very young. The 15-24 age group represents 20% of the population and 49% of those under 18 come from families who live below the poverty line. These young people, especially girls, face many challenges.

To obtain a small income, parents often drop their daughters out of school to make them work as housewives or saleswomen to contribute to the family’s income. Sexual exploitation is also a source of income but poses the risk of early pregnancy and forced marriage. The rights of children and young girls are therefore not always respected.

The mission

The project is to reduce the vulnerability of girls in precarious situations through education, training and a package of appropriate services.

Activities

  • Establishment of an empowerment program for young girls and their parents: definition of a personalized project for each girl and academic, social, legal and health support, professional support for parents towards income-generating activities
  • Organization of extra-curricular activities and a protection and leadership camp per year for young girls
  • Creation of watch committees and training of educators to monitor and report cases of abuse of young girls
  • Sensitization on the protection of girls: organization of talks, the establishment of community relays and home visits to improve family relationships, radio campaign, advocacy activities

Beneficiaries

120 girls sexually exposed or early work situation and their families, child welfare institutions, 10 watch committees, 20 community volunteers, 30 educators, the whole community


Make a donation for education and protections of girls in the area of Mbour


BILLLULL / IBAN : LU81 0021 1689 1320 2200


Informations personnelles

Total du don : 10,00€

Pour l’épanouissement des filles à travers l’éducation et la protection dans la zone de Mbour

État : En cours | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 120 jeunes filles

Durée du projet : 2020/2022, 3 ans

Lieu : Mbour, région de Thiès, Sénégal

Projet financé en accord cadre par le Ministère des Affaires Étrangères du Grand Duché de Luxembourg

Partenaire local

Jeunesse et Développement (JED) / Eclaireurs et Eclaireuses du Sénégal (EEDS) est une ONG de développement créée en 1936, et implantée dans toutes les régions du Sénégal, s’inspirant des valeurs scoutes, au service des jeunes et de la communauté. Sa mission est de contribuer à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des populations, principalement dans le domaine de la santé, de l’éducation, de l’insertion socioéconomique et de l’environnement, en préparant notamment les jeunes à leur rôle de citoyens actifs et responsables en synergie avec les Éclaireuses et Éclaireurs du Sénégal.

Contexte

La population du Sénégal est très jeune. Les 15-24 ans représentent 20% de la population et 49% des moins de 18 ans sont issues de familles qui vivent en dessous du seuil de pauvreté. Ces jeunes, en particulier les filles, sont ainsi confrontés à de nombreux défis.

Pour obtenir un petit revenu, les parents déscolarisent souvent leurs filles pour les faire travailler comme ménagères ou vendeuse afin de participer aux revenus de la famille. L’exploitation sexuelle est aussi source de revenus mais présente des risques de grossesses précoces et de mariages forcés. Les droits des enfants et des jeunes filles ne sont donc pas toujours respectés.

La mission

Le projet consiste à réduire la vulnérabilité des jeunes filles en situation de grande précarité grâce à l’éducation, la formation et un paquet de services adaptés.

Les activités

  • Mise en place d’un programme d’autonomisation des jeunes filles et de leurs parents : définition d’un projet personnalisé pour chaque fille et accompagnement scolaire, social, juridique et sanitaire, accompagnement professionnel des parents vers des activités génératrices de revenus
  • Organisation d’activités extra-scolaires et d’un camp de protection et de leadership par an à destination des jeunes filles
  • Création de comités de veilles et formation des éducateurs afin de surveiller et de signaler les cas d’abus de jeunes filles
  • Sensibilisation à la protection des filles : organisation de causeries, mise en place de relais communautaires et de visites à domicile pour améliorer les relations familiales, campagne radiophonique, activités de plaidoyer

Les bénéficiaires

120 jeunes filles exposées sexuellement ou en situation de travail précoce et leurs familles, les institutions de protection de l’enfance, 10 comités de veille, 20 relais communautaires, 30 éducateurs, toute la communauté


Faire un don pour l’éducation et la protection des filles dans la zone de Mbour


BILLLULL / IBAN : LU81 0021 1689 1320 2200


Informations personnelles

Total du don : 10,00€