Capacity building and empowerment of rural women

State : Ongoing | Number of beneficiaries : 1200 women and 4000 children

Project duration : 2020/2022, 3 years

Location: Ambohidratrimo District, Municipality of Anosiala, Madagascar

Project funded by Framework Agreement by the Grand Duchy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg

Local partner

The CADRI, created in 2004, by Marie Randriamamonjy and her husband Claude aims to contribute to the socio-economic development of the Municipality of Anosiala, in the region of Analamanga. Adopting a holistic approach to development, it has implemented, to varying degrees, five interrelated departments addressing different segments of the population and from different angles, the common denominator being the most disadvantaged sections of the rural population :

  • The Department of General Education (primary and the first part of secondary) for children from 4 to 17 years, from Kindergarden to grade 3.
  • The Department of Vocational Training, currently being set up, offers short-term training courses in metalwork, joinery and carpentry, masonry and handicrafts sectors. The agricultural sector includes livestock activities and market gardening and food crops.
  • The Health and Community Department includes the Mother and Child Reception Center (CME), the distribution of KOBA AINA (“Porridge of life”: a mixture of cereals enriched with vitamins, produced in Madagascar), the latrine operation, the sanitation and the protection of the environment.
  • The Department of Productive Activities aims to promote income-generating activities (IGA) to parents of students especially in the field of agriculture, livestock and market gardening.
  • The Cultural and Sports Department is transversal and aims to make known and appreciate Malagasy culture and traditions.

CADRI was born out of a private initiative of people native to the region who remained real actors, eager to put their skills at the service of disadvantaged populations of the Municipality of Anosiala. These “actors” are grouped within the “Association for the Promotion of CADRI” which manages the various departments. At the level of the Center itself is the FVVH Association (Fikambanan”ny Vehivavy Vonona Handroso: Association of Women for Progress) which coordinates the activities. It is affiliated to the Network of Rural Women’s Associations coordinated by the Municipality of Anosiala.
CADRI does not receive any state subsidies. Funding is therefore entirely private: members, associations, benefactors etc.

The 11 villages with which CADRI works are scattered within a radius of 10km, with a total population of about 5,000. Since 2004, for more than 14 years, CADRI has been the only structure in the zone offering technical activities, training and health services for rural women.

The problem

Women attending GCE / CADRI are 100% from disadvantaged rural areas. They are farmers (65%) or Retailers (14%) but with few means of production and very little income. The others are housewives. Those who are married are dependent on their husbands in terms of income and decisions in the household and domestic violence is common. 80% of them are married under the traditional regime and do not enjoy legal status for themselves or their children. They also have limited rights with respect to access to land. In addition, sanitary conditions are very precarious in Madagascar. Women suffer from malnutrition and access to clean water is a real problem. Finally, the average level of study of women is the end of primary school. To overcome this situation of general poverty of women, 97% live below the poverty line, it is necessary to work on their financial autonomy.

Objectives/Activities carried out

The general objective of the project is to contribute to the socio-economic development of the municipality of Anosiala, an area of strong rural exodus of men and young people, working in particular with rural women who have so far no access development services.

The specific objective is, on one hand, to provide women with sufficient income through a professional qualification and the paid work, through individual and collective productive activities and, on the other hand, to improve the health and food situation of their young children. It also aims to strengthen CADRI’s operational capacities for vocational and technical training, and health and community activities within the WEC.

The planned activities are as follows:

  • Activity 1: Equipment of the various CADRI professional workshops (craft, livestock and agro-food) and the training room and make them operational (purchase of furniture and tools, provide technical support and audio-visual equipment …)
  • Activity 2: Provide technical and vocational training in the agricultural, livestock, handicrafts and agro-food sectors to women beneficiaries
  • Activity 3: Realize the promotion of income-generating activities (AGR) for the women and create the revolving fund and support the beneficiaries in the assembly of their project
  • Activity 4: Strengthen the reception capacities of CADRI (buildings), install agricultural parcels dedicated to IGAs and create the buying and selling center for the benefit of women
  • Activity 5: Equip the CME further, increase and improve the quantity of its activities (purchase of equipment and porridge, layout of premises …)

Beneficiaries

4000 malnourished children, 1200 women living in precarious economic and health situations.


Make a donation for women and children of the municipality of Anosiala


BILLLULL / IBAN : LU81 0021 1689 1320 2200


Informations personnelles

Total du don : 10,00€

Renforcement des capacités et autonomisation des femmes rurales

État : En cours | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 4000 enfants et 1200 femmes

Durée du projet : 2020/2022, 3 ans

Lieu : District d’Ambohidratrimo, Commune d’Anosiala, Madagascar

Projet financé en accord cadre par le Ministère des Affaires Étrangères du Grand Duché de Luxembourg

Partenaire local

Le CADRI, créé en 2004, par Marie Randriamamonjy et son mari Claude vise à contribuer au développement socio-économique de la Commune d’Anosiala, dans la région d’Analamanga. Adoptant une approche holistique du développement, il a mis en place, à des degrés divers, cinq départements inter-reliés s’adressant à différents segments de la population et sous des angles différents, le dénominateur commun étant les couches les plus défavorisées du milieu rural :

  • Le Département de l’enseignement général (primaire et la 1ère partie du secondaire) s’adresse aux enfants de 4 à 17 ans, du jardin d’enfants à la classe de 3ème.
  • Le Département de la formation professionnelle, en cours de mise en place, offre des formations en session courte dans les filières de la ferronnerie, de la menuiserie et charpente, de la maçonnerie et de l’artisanat. La filière agricole comprend les activités d’élevage et les cultures maraîchères et vivrières.
  • Le Département sanitaire et communautaire comprend le Centre d’Accueil Mère et Enfant (CME), la distribution de KOBA AINA (« Bouillie de vie »: mélange de céréales enrichi en vitamines, produit à Madagascar), l’opération latrines, l’assainissement et la protection de l’environnement.
  • Le Département des activités productives vise à promouvoir des activités génératrices de revenus (AGR) aux parents d’élèves notamment dans le domaine agricole, élevage et cultures maraîchères.
  • Le Département culturel et sportif est transversal et se donne comme objectif de faire connaître et apprécier la culture et les traditions malgaches.

CADRI est donc né d’une initiative privée de personnes natives de la région qui en sont restées de réels acteurs, soucieux de mettre leurs compétences au service des populations défavorisées de la Commune d’Anosiala. Ces « acteurs » sont regroupés au sein de « l’Association pour la Promotion de CADRI » qui assure la gestion des différents départements. Au niveau du Centre lui-même c’est l’Association FVVH (Fikambanan »ny Vehivavy Vonona Handroso: Association des Femmes pour le Progrès) qui assure la coordination des activités. Celle-ci est affiliée au Réseau des Associations de Femmes Rurales coordonné par la Commune d’Anosiala.
CADRI ne reçoit aucune subvention de l’Etat. Le financement est donc entièrement privé : membres, associations, bienfaiteurs etc.

Les 11 villages avec lesquels travaille CADRI sont éparpillés dans un rayon de 10km, avec une population totale d’environ 5 000 habitants. Depuis 2004, soit depuis plus de 14 ans, le CADRI est la seule structure de la zone offrant des activités techniques, de la formation et des services de santé en faveur des femmes rurales.

La problématique

Les femmes qui fréquentent le CME/CADRI sont à 100% issues du milieu rural défavorisé. Elles sont agricultrices (65%) ou vendeuses (14%) mais avec peu de moyens de production et très peu de revenus. Les autres sont femmes au foyer. Celles qui sont mariées sont dépendantes de leur mari en termes de revenus et de décisions au sein du ménage et les violences conjugales sont fréquentes. 80% d’entre elles sont mariées sous le régime traditionnel et ne jouissent pas du statut légal ni pour elles ni pour leurs enfants. Elles ont aussi des droits limités en ce qui concerne l’accès à la terre. Par ailleurs, les conditions sanitaires sont très précaires à Madagascar. Les femmes souffrent de malnutrition et l’accès à l’eau potable est un réel problème. Pour finir, le niveau moyen d’étude des femmes est la fin du primaire. Pour pallier à cette situation de pauvreté générale des femmes, 97% vivent en dessous du seuil de pauvreté, il est nécessaire de travailler à leur autonomisation financière.

Objectifs/activités

L’objectif général du projet est de contribuer au développement socio-économique de la commune d’Anosiala, zone de forte exode rurale des hommes et des jeunes, en travaillant en particulier avec les femmes rurales qui n’ont jusqu’à présent aucun accès aux services de développement.

L’objectif spécifique est d’une part d’assurer aux femmes des revenus suffisants grâce à une qualification professionnelle et l’exercice d’un métier rémunérateur, par le biais d’activités productives individuelles et collectives et, d’autre part, d’améliorer la situation sanitaire et alimentaire de leurs jeunes enfants. Il s’agit aussi de renforcer les capacités opérationnelles de CADRI pour la formation professionnelle et technique, et les activités sanitaires et communautaires au sein du CME.

Le déroulé des activités prévues est le suivant:

  • Activité 1 : Équiper les différents ateliers professionnels de CADRI (artisanat, élevage et agroalimentaire) et la salle de formation et les rendre opérationnels (achat de mobilier et outils, fournir les supports techniques et l’équipement audiovisuel…)
  • Activité 2 : Donner une formation technique et professionnelle dans les filières de l’agriculture, de l’élevage, de l’artisanat et de l’agro-alimentaire aux femmes bénéficiaires
  • Activité 3 : Réaliser la promotion d’activités génératrices de revenus (AGR) au niveau des femmes, créer le fond revolving et appuyer les bénéficiaires dans le montage de leur projet
  • Activité 4 : Renforcer les capacités d’accueil de CADRI (bâtiments), installer les parcelles agricoles dédiées aux AGR et créer la centrale d’achat et de vente au bénéfice des femmes
  • Activité 5 : Équiper davantage le CME, accroître et améliorer la quantité de ses activités (achat d’équipements et de bouillie, aménagement des locaux…)

Les bénéficiaires

4000 enfants souffrant de malnutrition, 1200 femmes vivant dans des situations économiques et sanitaires précaires.


Faire un don pour les femmes et les enfants de la commune d’Anosiala


BILLLULL / IBAN : LU81 0021 1689 1320 2200


Informations personnelles

Total du don : 10,00€