Providing adequate education and a future for children living and working in the Dandora landfill

Status: In progress | Number of beneficiaries: 50 children and 70 parents

Project duration: 1 year

Location: Dandora Discharge, Nairobi, Kenya

 

Local Partner

Dandora Dumpsite Rehabitilation Group (DADREG)

The problem

On the Dandora landfill are children who work, with their mother or alone, sorting the waste from the landfill in order to find food, collect plastic, in order to earn a little money. They come from poor families living in slums around the landfill, or even on the site of the landfill. Mothers earn less than a dollar a day and often have at least two dependent children, which makes them live in conditions of extreme poverty. Because of the high cost of living, women are unable to send their children to school, and high rents result in many of these mothers living with their children on the landfill, feeding on food leftovers. they find on the spot, in spite of toxic waste dangerous for their health. In the long term, children who have dropped out of these families end up turning to jobs that do not require any skills, and stay on the landfill to dig and sort garbage all their lives.

Objectives / Activities

DADREG believes that a return of these children to school or in professional learning cycles is for them and their mother the only alternative that will allow them to consider a better future. It is therefore to allow a sustainable return to an adapted education and a dignified life for 50 children and young people living and / or working on the landfill, in particular through:

  • an “urgent” overall care of 50 children and adolescents (in terms of health, nutrition and psychology), adapted educational programs for each child and obtaining medical coverage;
  • Training in the vocational training center of DADREG where 30 teenagers and 20 children will be able to return to a traditional government curriculum (setting up and carrying out training, supporting young people to create an activity in the desired field, handing over a certificate of aptitude, upgrading, purchase of uniforms and school equipment …)
  • a peer sponsorship system that had the same difficulties as they and succeeded, as well as the establishment of a revolving fund allowing the purchase of “professional kits” with the setting up of groups of savings to encourage young people trained to work.
  • vocational training for parents and guardians of children so that they can learn to develop their own lucrative business and thus promote their return to work, and avoid as much as possible to go to the landfill.

Offrir une éducation adaptée et un avenir aux enfants vivant et travaillant sur la décharge de Dandora

État : En cours | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 50 enfants et 70 parents

Durée du projet : 1 an

Lieu : Décharge de Dandora, Nairobi, Kenya

Partenaire local

Dandora Dumpsite Rehabitilation Group (DADREG)

La problématique

Sur la décharge de Dandora se trouvent des enfants qui travaillent, avec leur mère ou seuls, à trier les déchets de la décharge afin de trouver à manger, collecter du plastique, dans le but de gagner un peu d’argent. Ils sont issus de familles pauvres vivant dans les bidonvilles autour de la décharge, voire sur le site même de la décharge. Les mères gagnent moins d’un dollar par jour et ont souvent au moins deux enfants à charge, ce qui leur fait vivre dans des conditions de pauvreté extrême. En raison du coût élevé de la vie, les femmes sont incapables d’envoyer leurs enfants à l’école et les loyers élevés ont pour conséquence que nombre de ces mères vivent avec leurs enfants sur la décharge, se nourrissant des restes des nourritures qu’elles trouvent sur place, en dépit des déchets toxiques dangereux pour leur santé.A terme, les enfants déscolarisés de ces familles finissent par se tourner vers des emplois ne nécessitant aucune compétence, et restent sur la décharge à creuser et trier des déchets toute leur vie.

Objectifs/activités

DADREG estime qu’un retour de ces enfants à l’école ou dans des cycles d’apprentissage professionalisant est pour eux et pour leur mère la seule alternative qui leur permettra d’envisager un avenir meilleur. Il consiste donc à permettre un retour durable à une éducation adaptée et à une vie digne pour 50 enfants et jeunes vivant et/ou travaillant sur la décharge, notamment par le biais :

  • d’une prise en charge globale « urgente » de 50 enfants et adolescents (au niveau santé, nutrition et psychologie), de programmes pédagogiques adaptés pour chaque enfant et de l’obtention d’une couverture médicale;
  • de formations dans le centre de formation professionnelle de DADREG où 30 adolescents et 20 enfants pourront réintégrer un cursus gouvernemental classique (mise en place et réalisation des formations, accompagnement des jeunes à la création d’une activité dans le domaine souhaité, remise d’un certificat d’aptitude, remise à niveau, achat des uniformes et matériel scolaire…)
  • d’un système de parrainage par des pairs ayant eu les mêmes difficultés qu’eux et ayant réussi ainsi que la mise en place d’un fonds rotatif permettant l’achat de « kits professionnels » avec la mise en place de groupes d’épargne afin d’encourager les jeunes formés à travailler.
  • d’une formation professionnelle destinée aux parents et gardiens des enfants afin qu’ils puissent apprendre à développer leur propre activité lucrative et ainsi favoriser leur retour à l’emploi, et éviter au maximum de se rendre sur la décharge.