“Living conditions in the South: consequences for the future of children”

Since 2014 PADEM has made a commitment to the Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign Affairs to intervene in the field of education for sustainable development in schools in the Grand Duchy. During the 2017 project, PADEM raises awareness among young people about living conditions in the South and their impact on the future of children. The proposed workshops aim to educate future informed and responsible citizens ready to tackle the injustices in the world.

 

Mise en scène dans un atelier

 

For the school year 2016-2017, as well as 2017-2018, PADEM offers to teachers, educators or all other interested persons the opportunity for workshops , as well as the availability of pedagogical kits, on the following themes:

  • Children’s Rights Workshop: This workshop aims to raise awareness about the rights of children and to demonstrate children’s everyday lives in other countries. Games make the workshop interactive and help students to better assimilate the material. The issue of disability is integrated in several places. This workshop is aimed at an audience of pupils aged 8 to 12 and a group of 10 to 25 people.
  • Workshop “My life in Sri Lanka”: The workshop aims to familiarize young people with the living conditions of families living in tea plantations in Sri Lanka. Through activities and games students learn the differences between their own lifestyles and those in Sri Lanka. The target students are between the ages of 10 and 19 and the workshop is in groups of 9 to 25 students.
  • Workshop “Child labor”: The main objective of this workshop is to raise awareness about child labor. This workshop can be seen as an extension of the workshop on children’s rights. It is suitable for an audience of 9 to 12 years and a group of 10 to 25 students.
  • Workshop “A future without water”: The workshop allows a first an introduction to the theme of water and the problems that come with it. Students will learn why and how water, which is a rare commodity in some parts of the world, can be saved. The workshop also aims to introduce the subject of North-South inequality. The workshop targets very young children aged 7 to 12 and groups of 5 to 15 children.*
  • Workshop “Equal Opportunities”: This workshop aims to familiarize young people with the notion of equal opportunities. This theme is left voluntarily general and can serve as a first introduction to more specific subjects such as gender equality, North-South equality etc. The workshop is designed for an audience of young people aged 12 to 18 and for groups ranging from 10 to 25 people.
Additional information

Information on educational kits:

For borrowing or questions about kits or workshop materials, please contact Jil Brocker (jil.brocker@padem.org) or Pascal Hus (pascal.hus@padem.org).

Additional Information for teachers wishing to deepen the subject are also available.

Interested in PADEM intervention in your classes?

Do not hesitate to contact us directly, to discuss the possibilities of an intervention in your school.

« Les conditions de vie dans le Sud : conséquences sur l’avenir des enfants »

Depuis 2014 PADEM s’est engagé auprès du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères luxembourgeois pour intervenir dans le domaine de l’éducation au développement durable dans les établissements scolaires du Grand-duché. Lors du projet 2017, PADEM sensibilise les jeunes sur les conditions de vie dans le Sud et leurs conséquences sur l’avenir des enfants.  Les ateliers proposés visent à éduquer des futurs citoyens informés et responsable prêts à aborder les injustices dans le monde.

Mise en scène dans un atelier

 

Pour l’année scolaire 2016-2017, ainsi que 2017-2018, PADEM propose aux enseignants, éducateurs ou toutes autres personnes intéressées des ateliers d’éveil et d’éducation, ainsi que des kits pédagogiques, sur les thématiques suivantes :

  • Atelier « droits de l’enfant» : Cet atelier vise à sensibiliser les élèves aux droits de l’enfant et à leur montrer le quotidien des enfants dans d’autres pays. Des jeux rendent l’atelier interactif et aident les élèves à mieux assimiler la matière. La question du handicap y est intégrée à plusieurs endroits. Cet atelier est destiné à un public d’élèves de 8 à 12 ans et à un groupe de 10 à 25 personnes.
  • Atelier « ma vie au Sri Lanka » : L’atelier vise à faire connaître aux jeunes les conditions de vie des familles vivant dans les plantations de thés au Sri Lanka. À travers des activités et des jeux les élèves apprennent les différences entre leurs propres modes de vie et ceux au Sri Lanka. Les élèves cibles sont âgés de 10 à 19 ans et l’atelier s’effectue par groupe de 9 à 25 élèves.
  • Atelier «  le travail des enfants » : Cet atelier a comme objectif principal de sensibiliser les élèves au sujet du travail des enfants. Cet atelier peut être considéré comme un prolongement de l’atelier sur les droits de l’enfant. Il est adapté à un public de 9 à 12 ans et à un groupe de 10 à 25 élèves.
  • Atelier « un avenir sans eau » : L’atelier permet une première introduction à la thématique de l’eau et aux problématiques d’accès à celle-ci. Les élèves apprendront pourquoi et comment l’eau, qui est une denrée rare dans certains endroit du monde, peut être économisée. L’atelier a en outre pour objectif d’introduire le sujet de l’inégalité Nord-Sud. L’atelier vise des enfants très jeunes de 7 à 12 ans et des groupes pouvant aller de 5 à 15 enfants.
  • Atelier « Egalité des chances » : Cet atelier a comme objectif de familiariser les jeunes à la notion d’égalité des chances. Cette thématique est laissée volontairement générale et peut servir de première introduction à des sujets plus précis comme l’égalité des genres, l’égalité Nord-Sud etc. L’atelier est conçu pour un public de jeunes allant de 12 à 18 ans et pour des groupes allant de 10 à 25 personnes.

Informations pratiques

Infos relatives aux kits pédagogiques :

Pour l’emprunt ou toute question relative aux kits ou au matériel pour les ateliers, veuillez contacter Jil Brocker (jil.brocker@padem.org) ou Pascal Hus (pascal.hus@padem.org).

Des dossiers pédagogiques destinés aux enseignants souhaitant approfondir la matière abordée, sont aussi disponibles.

Intéressés par une intervention de PADEM dans vos classes?

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter directement, afin de discuter des possibilités d’une intervention dans votre école.