Renewable Energy Training Project

Funding level : Ongoing funding | Number of beneficiaries : 30 young and 30 craftsmen

Project duration : 2 years

Location : Mboro, Senegal

Local partner

Youth and Development (Jeunesse et Développement (JED) in French) / Scouts and Girl Scouts of Senegal (Eclaireurs et Eclaireuses du Sénégal (EEDS) in French) is a development NGO founded in 1936 and located in all regions of Senegal, inspired by Scout values, serving youth and the community. Its mission is to contribute to improving the quality of life of people, mainly in the field of health, education, socioeconomic integration, and the environment, including preparing young people for their role active and responsible citizens in synergy with the Scouts and Scouts of Senegal.

Context

Senegal is a country composed mainly of young people. 15-24-year-olds account for 20% of the population and the national unemployment rate is 10.2%. They, therefore, face the challenge of employment. It is through the Plan Senegal Emergent (November 2012) that Senegal has identified the new energy sector as a major pillar for the development of the economy and the reduction of social inequalities. Mboro has a solar potential and the largest wind resources in the country, so it appears appropriate to develop in this area, for young people, a curriculum certifying on renewable energies.

The mission

The project aims to develop a training course qualifying renewable energy for young people to facilitate their access to decent and sustainable jobs.

Activities

  • Setting up socio-professional training in renewable energy: setting up a steering committee, developing training modules, equipping classrooms and the laboratory, recruiting teachers and young people via a competition
  • Education of youth to new energies: conducted professional training and entrepreneurship training modules, creation of a revolving fund to help young people in starting a professional activity
  • Sensitization of children, the population, authorities and companies to the use of green energies (use, responsible consumption …)

Beneficiaries

30 young people aged 18 to 25 years and 30 craftsmen and their families, actors of the primary sector, the community, businesses and local authorities

Projet de formation en énergie renouvelable

État : En cours de financement | Nombre de bénéficiaires : 30 jeunes et 30 artisans

Durée du projet : 2 ans

Lieu : Mboro, Sénégal

Partenaire local

Jeunesse et Développement (JED) / Eclaireurs et Eclaireuses du Sénégal (EEDS) est une ONG de développement créée en 1936, et implantée dans toutes les régions du Sénégal, s’inspirant des valeurs scoutes, au service des jeunes et de la communauté. Sa mission est de contribuer à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des populations, principalement dans le domaine de la santé, de l’éducation, de l’insertion socioéconomique et de l’environnement, en préparant notamment les jeunes à leur rôle de citoyens actifs et responsables en synergie avec les Éclaireuses et Éclaireurs du Sénégal.

Contexte

Le Sénégal est un pays composé majoritairement de jeunes. Les 15-24 ans représentent 20% de la population et le taux de chômage national est de 10,2%. Ils sont donc confrontés au défi de l’emploi. C’est au travers du Plan Sénégal Emergent (Novembre 2012) que le Sénégal a identifié le secteur des énergies nouvelles comme pilier majeur pour le développement de l’économie et la réduction des inégalités sociales. Mboro disposant d’un potentiel solaire et de gisements éoliens les plus importants du pays, il apparait pertinent de développer, dans cette zone, à destination des jeunes, un cursus scolaire certifiant relatif aux énergies renouvelables.

La mission

Le projet vise à développer un cursus de formation qualifiant en énergie renouvelable à destination des jeunes afin de favoriser leur accès à des emplois décents et durables.

Les activités

  • Mise en place des formations socioprofessionnelles en énergie renouvelable : installer un comité de pilotage, élaborer les modules de formation, équiper les salles de cours et le laboratoire, recruter les enseignants, et les jeunes via un concours
  • Education des jeunes aux énergies nouvelles : déroulé des formations professionnelles et des modules de formations en entreprenariat, création d’un fonds revovlving pour aider les jeunes dans le démarrage d’une activité professionnelle
  • Sensibilisation des enfants, de la population, des autorités et des entreprises à l’utilisation des énergies vertes (usage, consommation responsable…)

Les bénéficiaires

30 jeunes âgés de 18 à 25 ans et 30 artisans et leurs familles, les acteurs du secteur primaire, la communauté, les entreprises et les autorités locales