Improvement of hygiene and building of sanitary facilities in a nursery school

Project in the funding phase | Number of beneficiaries: 378 beneficiaries10704392_931218823573032_7706716503776056520_o

Place of intervention: Nursery school “The Future”, Tuv province

Local partner : Parent Teacher Association in Mongolia (PTA)

The issue

  • After a growing trend of settlement among the nomadic population in mixed areas made up of yurts and concrete buildings in the suburbs of Ulan Bator, these populations perpetuate their former lifestyle including hygienic practices that can be inappropriate in highly populated areas

  •  The drinking water supplied at the stands is transported in containers that are often inadequate and the inhabitants only have precarious and unsanitary latrines, which leads to many waterborne diseases
  • The nursery school “The Future’ in Tuv province, as many schools in rural areas, does not have a decent access to water or sanitary facilities. Yet, school is the only place where many children from nomadic families can have hygiene education

The beneficiaries20151216_154436

This project is intended for 196 children and 42 members of the pedagogic team from “The Future” nursery school.

The activities

This project includes :

  • The construction of 5 sanitary blocks on the « Child Friendly Toilet » model (adapted to the size and needs of children and approved by the Mongolian government) including 3 toilets, 3 hand-washing stands and a shower
  • The construction of a sanitary block for the education team
  • Awareness raising and capacity building activities for teachers, students, students’ parents and construction companies to hygiene education and sanitary facilities’ maintenance
  • Advocacy campaign on sanitary hygiene and promotion of the “Child Friendly Toilet” at the regional and national level

Amélioration de l’hygiène et construction d’infrastructures sanitaires dans une école maternelle

Amélioration de l’hygiène et construction d’infrastructures sanitaires dans une école maternelle

Projet en cours de financement | Nombre de bénéficiaires: 378 bénéficiaires10704392_931218823573032_7706716503776056520_o

Lieu d’intervention: Ecole maternelle « The Future », province de Tuv, Mongolie

Partenaire local : Parent Teacher Association in Mongolia (PTA)

La problématique

  • Suite à une sédentarisation croissante des populations nomades dans des zones mixtes composées de yourtes et de logements bâtis en périphérie de la capitale, Oulan-Bator, celles-ci perpétuent des pratiques d’hygiène héritées de leur ancien style de vie, qui s’avèrent inappropriées dans les zones de population dense
  •  L’approvisionnement en eau potable aux kiosques est réalisé avec des containers souvent inadaptés et les habitants ne disposent que de latrines très précaires et insalubres, d’où la prévalence de nombreuses maladies hydriques
  • L’école maternelle “The Future” de la province de Tuv, comme la plupart des écoles rurales, n’a pas accès à l’eau ou à des infrastructures sanitaires correctes. Or, pour certains enfants qui vivent dans des familles nomades des steppes, l’école est le seul endroit où ils peuvent apprendre à avoir une hygiène sanitaire.

Les bénéficiaires      20151216_154436           

Ce projet est destiné à 196 enfants et 42 membres du personnel enseignant de l’école maternelle « The Future ».

Les activités

Ce projet prévoit :

  • La construction de 5 locaux sanitaires de type « Child Friendly Toilet » (adaptés aux besoins et à la taille des enfants et approuvés par le gouvernement mongol) comprenant 3 toilettes, 3 stations de lavage des mains et une douche
  • La construction d’un bloc sanitaire pour le personnel éducatif
  • D’actions de sensibilisation et de renforcement des capacités des enseignants, des élèves, des parents d’élèves et des entreprises de construction aux bonnes pratiques d’hygiène et à la maintenance des structures sanitaires
  • D’actions de plaidoyer sur l’hygiène sanitaire et la promotion du « Child Friendly toilet’ au niveau régional et national